Skip to main content
Mobile Menu

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees consists of parents of current Saklan students, alumni and community members. The role of the Board of Trustees is to keep their eyes on the big picture, safeguarding Saklan’s mission long-term while leaving the day-to-day operations to the Head of School. The Board offers the financial expertise and vision necessary to keep the school healthy for years to come. In short, the Board holds Saklan "in trust" for future generations of students and families.


Trustees serve three-year terms and are encouraged to remain for additional terms. The Board meets six times during the school year; standing committees (which may also include non-board parents and community leaders) meet in frequent working sessions and additional monthly meetings. A full day Board Retreat occurs at the end of the school year and welcomes newly appointed board members. Our board adheres to the NAIS Principles of Good Practice which offer a clear and concise outline of the duties of the board. Saklan board members also serve as ambassadors for the school to the community at large.


The Board is not involved in the day-to-day operations of the school; these are the responsibility of the Head of School. The Head of School, as educational leader, is responsible for implementing Board policy, hiring faculty and professional staff, and the daily operational management of the school.


Board Committees include:
Finance Committee
Development Committee
Trustee Committee
Building & Ground Committee
Marketing & Communication Committee


The 2023-24 Board of Trustees:

Toshie Baba

Board member since 2016, Parent


Karen Catanzarite
Board member since 2022, Retired Educator


Jenny Choi
Board member since 2020, Parent


John Kim, Chair
Board member since 2020, Parent


Etienne Lacrampe
Board member since 2023, Parent


Brian Lovrin

Board member since 2021, Parent


Erin Moorhead

Board member since 2022, Parent


Peta Siacor

Board member since 2022, Faculty Representative


David O'Connell
Head of School