The Saklan School

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu

Our Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees has 15 members, consisting of Saklan alumni, parents of current students, and community members. The role of the Board of Trustees is to keep their eyes on the big picture, safeguarding Saklan’s mission long-term while leaving the day-to-day operations to the Head of School. The Board offers the financial expertise and vision necessary to keep the school healthy for years to come. In short, the Board holds Saklan "in trust" for future generations of students and families.


Trustees serve three-year terms and are encouraged to remain for additional terms. The Board meets monthly during the school year; standing committees (which may also include non-board parents and community leaders) meet in frequent working sessions and additional monthly meetings. A full day Board Retreat occurs at the end of the school year and welcomes newly appointed board members. Our board adheres to the NAIS Principles of Good Practice which offer a clear and concise outline of the duties of the board. Saklan board members also serve as ambassadors for the school to the community at large.


The board is not involved in the day-to-day operations of the school; these are the responsibility of the Head of School. The Head of School, as educational leader, is responsible for implementing Board policy, hiring faculty and professional staff, and the daily operational management of the school.


Committees of the Board include:
Head Evaluation Committee
Finance Committee
Development Committee
Trustee Committee
Building and Grounds Committee
Board and Community Committee


The 2016-17 Board of Trustees:


Stuart Darby, Co-Chair
Board member since 2011, Parent


Bryan Edwardson, Co-Chair
Board member since 2015, Parent

Geri Buhl
Board member since 2015, Parent


Gina Baker
Board member since 2011, Parent


Bill Richardson
Board member since 2011, Community Member


Miranda Heerah
Board Member since 2009, Parent


Kirsten Upshaw
Board Member since 2012, Alumni Parent


John Wilcox-Black, Treasurer
Board member since 2013, Parent


Toshie Baba
Board member since 2016, Parent


Jeremy Coyne
Board member since 2014, Parent


Prab Brinton
Board member since 2014, Alumni Parent


Robert Miller, Secretary
Board member since 2015, Parent


John Vallor
Board member since 2016, Community Member


Amanda Neff
Board, member since 2015, Faculty


Hans Peter Metzger
Head of School